Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home | Support RFF | Join E-mail List | Contact
RFF Logo
Skip navigation links


Join E-mail List
Please provide your e-mail address to receive periodic newsletters and invitations to public events
Resources 2020 with Kenneth J. Arrow
1972 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences
Professor of Economics (Emeritus), Stanford University

"The Environment in the Anthropocene Era: Values, Rationality, and Justice"

Tuesday, November 13, 2012
2:00 - 3:30 p.m.

About the Event

RFF hosted a special event with Kenneth J. Arrow, 1972 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences, as part of RFF’s 60th anniversary celebration: Resources 2020, a yearlong exploration of how economic inquiry can address future environmental and natural resource challenges.

About the speaker
(Download Bio)

Kenneth J. Arrow is Professor Emeritus of Economics and of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford University, and a Senior Fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and at the Stanford Center for Health Policy. He has taught at Stanford University, Harvard University, and the University of Chicago, and has been a visiting professor or fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Churchill College at the University of Cambridge, All Souls College at the University of Oxford, and the University of Sienna. He has given courses in microeconomic theory, mathematical statistics, econometrics, income distribution, and the history of economic thought.

Arrow was born in 1921. He graduated from the College of the City of New York (1940) and received an MA (mathematics, 1941) and a PhD (economics, 1951) from Columbia University. He is the author of 21 books and 271 papers in scholarly journals. His principal research fields have been social choice, general equilibrium, the economics of uncertainty and information, inventory theory, optimal growth with special reference to environmental constraints, health economics, and the economics of innovation.
He has received several honors, including the John Bates Clark Medal (American Economic Association), the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 1972, the National Medal of Science, the von Neumann Prize, and the Medal of the University of Paris. He has also been president of several professional societies and a member or fellow of several honorary societies. He is especially proud that three students and two close collaborators have won the Nobel Memorial Prize.


Audio and Video
Event Audio (mp3) click to stream and right-click to download


RFF Home | RFF Press: An Imprint of Routledge Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright Notice
1616 P St. NW, Washington, DC 20036 · 202.328.5000 Feedback | Contact Us